Sometimes it’s an Easy Fix

So about a month ago I was in a pretty dark hole–depressed, overwhelmed, couldn’t sleep.  This kind of state comes and goes with me, but I couldn’t figure out why it was suddenly attacking me so strongly.  Then I realized: for the last week or so, I had been:

  • not praying as much as usual
  • reading the newspaper every day at work
  • following and researching stories about child abuse and homelessness
  • watching JAG right before bedtime, including episodes about gangs, suicides, and PTSD
  • and reading a memoir about the Vietnam War.

Duh!  I quit reading the paper, tried to quit clicking the “trending” news stories on Facebook, and brought the Vietnam book back to the library.  I gave myself permission to veg on the couch at night, instead of reading something “serious” and “worthwhile,” and I picked up a couple of fun pulp fiction mysteries.  I started saying evening or night prayer more often.  Voila!  Instant peace.

Sometimes depression comes on for no reason, and there’s nothing you can do about it.  But sometimes it’s your own darn fault.  Speaking of which, I started this blog with the intention of devoting most of my time to passing on beautiful things, didn’t I.  Sorry about that.  I don’t regret any of the posts I’ve written about disturbing topics, but I’m going to try to make the majority of them positive from now on!

P.S.  I’ve finally created an email account for the blog, and I’d love to hear from you at SunsetBlog (at) aol (dot) com.  Thank you so much for reading.  You make my day.

 

2 thoughts on “Sometimes it’s an Easy Fix

  1. it was Sunday today and I was feeling kind of slow and dragging even though I did finish the one project I had on my list to do today. But I just wanted to lay down and take a nap or read or something else. Which I did until my sister called and then I was able to get a little energetic and I got up and I realize that I had been fairly active the day before and the week had been long because I worked on Saturday as well as the previous 5 days so I was deserving of this day of rest which I was feeling guilty about but in truth God knows that we need a day of rest. so I agree, the takeaway is pay attention to what’s going on in your life before you feel guilty about what you are or are not doing.

    Like

  2. I always feel so guilty for averting my attention away from something evil or disturbing; I feel like someone ought to pay attention and be angry and be hurt and pray and just DO something about all the evil in the world. But I just don’t think I have the emotional makeup to handle it. Who does, though? How does that work?

    All I know is I wish I could do more but I can’t today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

