Venus and Mars and Tobias and Sarah in the Bedroom

File:Schnorr von Carolsfeld Bibel in Bildern 1860 147.png

Tobias and Sarah Awake, by Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld

I stumbled across this picture when I was looking for some good marriage clipart, and I love it so much.  I’ve never seen this particular scene depicted before, but it’s really crying out for it–after all the suffering poor Tobias and Sarah went through, let us enjoy the happy ending a little!  I love the peaceful, secure look on Sarah’s face, and the goofy, blissful, exhausted, satisfied expression that Tobias is wearing.  I never heard of this artist before, but he obviously knows what’s he’s doing.

File:Venus and Mars National Gallery.jpg

Venus and Mars, by Sandro Botticelli

This one isn’t quite so edifying, but I think he also gets the expressions spot-on.  I really enjoy the way Mars is sprawled out, fast asleep, but Venus wouldn’t be caught dead in such an indecorous position, even right after sex.  She’s perfectly dressed and coiffed, and she’s peacefully ruminating on what just happened.  Botticelli and von Carolsfeld seem to have the perfect experience for this sort of painting, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

